How Many Games & Order | Where to Start in God of War? [2023]

God of War is one of the most popular video game franchises in the world. The series has been around for over a decade, and there are now six games in the main series (not including spin-offs). If you’re new to the God of War series, or just want to brush up on your knowledge, this blog post is for you! In it, we will discuss how many games there are in the series, their order, and where to start if you’re just getting into it.

So, how many games are there? As mentioned before, there are six main games in the series. The first game was released in 2005 for the PlayStation

If you’re just getting into the series, or want to start from the beginning, we recommend playing the games in order. The first game is simply titled “God of War,” while the second is “God of War II.” The third game is called “God of War III,” and so on. However, if you’re short on time or not a big fan of older video games, you can skip ahead to 2010’s “God of War III: Remastered” or 2013’s “God of War: Ascension.”

So, there you have it! That is how many games there are, their order, and where to start if you’re just getting into the series.

Read more: How to Pardon Sisyphus In Hades? | Full Guide


Hey there everyone, in this post we’ll be discussing the God of War series. More specifically, how many games are in the series, what order they should be played in, and where to start if you’re new to the franchise.

With 2018’s version of the game being such a massive success, there’s no doubt that plenty of people are interested in getting into the series for the first time. And with a franchise as old as is, that can be daunting task. But don’t worry, we’re here to help!

So without further ado, let’s get started.

How many God of War Games are there in the Series?

There are 15 games in the God of War series overall, including the recently-released Ragnarok. Of those games, only six are considered to be legitimate parts of the main series: numbered entries, Ascension, the new GoW, and Ragnarok.

The rest are side-games, mobile titles, or remasters. In terms of the order you should play the games in, it’s best to go with release date.

So that would be: God of War (2005), God of War II (2007), Chains of Olympus (2008), Ghost of Sparta (2010), God of War: Ascension (2013), and finally God of War (2018). As for where to start, if you’re new to the series then you might want to try the most recent game first. It serves as a soft reboot/reimagining of the franchise and is therefore more accessible than some of the older entries. However, if you’re a long-time fan then you’ll probably want to start from the beginning.

Continue reading: Roblox Toyman Simulator Codes List | Latest Working Codes

Which God of War game should I play first?

The following sections will assume you are playing the core series. While the side series (particularly Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta) are excellent, the console versions are more accessible.

Alternatively, you can play God of War (2005) or God of War (2018), which are the two most popular titles in the series.

The original game, which is now only available on the PS3, has a little bit of wear and tear. These are substantial hurdles to overcome if you want to enjoy the original game… However, the experience is so fantastic that it may be well worth your money.

The new Norse-inspired game is an excellent place to start. While you won’t get much character development, Kratos is essentially a brand new person in a new situation. You won’t be too disadvantaged by starting in the new continuity.

Keep reading: is Rec Room Cross-Platform? (PC,xbox, PS4, PS5)

Is there a correct order to play God of War games?

The God of War series has been around for over a decade and there have been several mainline entries, as well as some side stories and spin-offs. So, if you’re looking to jump into the series, it can be a little daunting to figure out where to start and what order you should play the games in.

First things first: if you want to get the full story, you’ll need to play all of the mainline God of War games. That includes God of War (2005), God of War II (2007), Chains of Olympus (2008), Ghost of Sparta (2010), Ascension (2013), and God of War (2018). However, you don’t necessarily need to play them all in chronological order. In fact, we recommend starting with the most recent game and working your way backwards.

God of War III wrapped up the original trilogy nicely and set the stage for the 2018 reboot, which is a soft reboot/sequel that takes place after the events of the original three games. So, if you want to start with the most recent release and get caught up on Kratos’ story so far, begin with God of War (2018) and work your way backwards from there.

Of course, if you’re only interested in playing the mainline entries, you can start with any of them and still get a great experience. However, we recommend starting with either God of War (2018) or the second game in the series. Both are excellent entries in the franchise and will give you a good idea of what the series is all about.

Keep reading: FFBE – Final Fantasy Brave Exvius Tier List

Which God of War game is considered the best?

The action-adventure video game God of War (2005) is regarded the finest in the series, followed by. It shouldn’t come as a surprise that they’re considered new beginnings for our blood-soaked protagonist; both are recognized as such. The remaster does have a higher user rating, but it’s possible that this is due to timing since 2005 user evaluations and criticisms aren’t well structured or organized.

Surprisingly, the other games are all quite well regarded, with only Ascension receiving a score below 90. That being said, some remakes took a beating from consumers; III Remastered and the Collection for PS Vita are generally seen as worse than the original.

Keep reading: Assassin’s Creed Odyssey Theodoros or Mestor | What to Choose?

Which original God of War would be the best game for me?

Given the popularity of these two games, your perfect GOW may be a matter of personal taste. The original series prized fast action with big, sweeping swings, a lot of monsters, and more mature themes. Kratos was in his mid-thirties when he decided to seek once again for Ares’ support in ending as many lives as possible.

Meanwhile, the new game’s protagonist is more laid-back. Kratos is slower, takes longer to kill single opponents, and now relies on leveling up stats and earning gear. For a more methodical experience, the 2018 edition might be a bit better… The story and dialogue have also greatly improved where gameplay has slowed down!

Continue reading: Best Snake Game Mods On Google Play | Verified List


Whether you’re a fan of the original games or you’re new to the series, we’ve got you covered. We’ve outlined the order in which you should play the games and highlighted some of the best entries in the franchise. So, no matter what your gaming preference is, there’s sure to be a game that’s perfect for you.

Do you have a favorite game? Let us know in the comments below!

And that’s it for our guide on the best order to play the games. We hope you found it helpful and, as always, thanks for reading!

Did you find this guide helpful? Let us know in the comments below or on our social media channels! And be sure to check out our other gaming guides for more great content. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Comment